Click to see the beacon journal online
Homes   Jobs   Cars   Shopping
NewsFlashes – Kent State Sports News -- Community Blog

KSU's Greene repeats as MAC First teamer

by Stephanie Storm on March 7, 2012

in Uncategorized

Four Flashes made the MAC All-League team Wednesday, led by first-team honoree and senior forward Justin Greene. Senior guard Michael Porrini (Massillon) was a third team selection and junior guard Randal Holt (Cleveland) and senior guard Carlton Guyton received honorable mention nods.

The honors mark the first time since 2008 and only the third time (2002, 2008, 2012) in school history that Kent State has had four players on the All-Conference teams.

Greene became the eighth two-time First Teamer in KSU history. He finished the season ranked fourth in the league with 15.4 points per game during conference play. The only active player in the MAC with career totals of over 1,000 points, 100 blocks and 100 steals, Greene also added 6.7 rebounds per game this season. In addition to his first-team honors the past two seasons, Greene was a second team selection as a sophomore in 2010.

Porrini, the 2011 Defensive Player of the Year, earned his second All-MAC nod is as many seasons following last year's honorable mention season. This year he was the only player in the MAC to average better than nine points, five assists and four rebounds during league play.  Overall, he averaged 8.9 points, 5.0 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 1.9 steals while shooting 38-percent from 3-point range.  

The MAC's 2011 Sixth-Man of the Year, Guyton averaged  10.6 points and 3.8 assists per game this season, while leading the team in minutes played.  He came on strong down the stretch of league play, averaging 13.0 points over the final nine games.  

Holt was also tabbed honorable mention after averaging 12.6 points on the season and 13.4 points during MAC play.  His 65 three-pointers are the fourth most by any player in the league this season.  

Here are all the 2012 MAC Teams:

All-MAC Team
All-MAC First Team
Mitchell Watt, Buffalo
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Justin Greene, Kent State
Julian Mavunga, Miami
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
All-MAC Second Team
Zeke Marshall, Akron
Alex Abreu, Akron
Jarrod Jones, Ball State
Austin Calhoun, Bowling Green
Rian Pearson, Toledo
All-MAC Third Team
Nikola Cvetinovic, Akron
Scott Thomas, Bowling Green
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Darrell Lampley, Eastern Michigan
Michael Porrini, Kent State
Honorable Mention
Randal Holt, Kent State
Carlton Guyton, Kent State
Ivo Baltic, Ohio
Walter Offutt, Ohio
Curtis Dennis, Toledo
Flenard Whitfield, Western Michigan
All-Freshman Team
Aaron Adeoye, Ball State
Austin McBroom, Central Michigan
Brian Sullivan, Miami
Abdel Nader, Northern Illinois
Julius Brown, Toledo

{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

Fred March 7, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Congrats to Justin. It`s been a disappointing season up to now. It would be nice to get the team to play well and win the tourney. Go Flashes!

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:


© The Akron Beacon Journal • 44 E. Exchange Street, Akron, Ohio 44308

Powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).